Evergreen District Barbershopper of the Year Members

2016Ted ChamberlainSeattleOur newest member of the EVG BOTY fraternity comes from a very musical family He's been around 37 years and has done so many things to make any barbershopper proud to know both him and his accomplishments. And he’s a nice man to boot.

Let’s see what he has in fact done. He sings all parts well – like in 3 District Championship quartets – Tenor, Bass and Baritone. He has directed at least three choruses and has been a public school choir teacher after majoring in music and music education. He is a valued coach and now a full time voice instructor and is now singing Lead in his newest quartet. He is enjoying a wonderful journey of passion for being a performer, mentor and leader in the Evergreen District. He is respected by all who know him.

Please welcome our 2016 District BOTY: Ted Chamberlain.

2015Keith EckhardtBellinghamAwards chairman Bobby Huber presented Keith Eckhardt with a personal plaque and traveling plaque as Evergreen District 2015 Barbershopper Of The Year. This is recognition for his creation of the Evergreen Administrative website, for launching and editing the Greensheet newsletter, and for teaching chapter secretaries at two Leadership Academies. Keith has held almost every job in his chapter experience and has become a welcome and very active secretary of the EVG Board. He has thoroughly improved overall internal and external communications processes in our district as well.
2014Rich LappBoiseThe newest recipient of the EVG Dist. BarberShopper of the Year has a long history of music activities. His entire professional career has been devoted to music education and choral direction. He joined the Society as a boy and sang with his Dad and brothers as a quartet in California. He has sung in many quartet contests, is an excellent show producer and excels in audience entertainment. He has also directed many years in 2 different stints the Boise Chorus, and is an extraordinary teacher as a Barbershopper and musical leader both with youth and adult participants. Rich is very instrumental in promoting YIH and the continual "100 Man Chorus" in Boise, and among his education peers and Barbershop areas he is praised as a true champion. A past BOTY in the chapter as well as on the leadership team and a frequent atttendee and Faculty of Harmony College NorthWest, he was just promoted to Director of Music Education for the Boise School System as well !! We are proud to welcome Rich Lapp into the BarberShopper of the Year club, as well as recognizing his enormous talents as a music educator and devoted Director. Congratulations, Rich Lapp !! Bobby Huber Chairman Evg. Dist. BOTY Committee
2013Con HobsonBoise
2012Don RoseBellevueWe are pleased to announce the recipient of the 2012 Evergreen District Barbershopper of the Year (B.O.T.Y.) He is Donny Rose. Donny is a music educator and teaches band at Curtis High School in the University Place School District, He is a music educator who graduated from Western Washington University (Bellingham) and received his Masters from Pacific Lutheran University (Tacoma). He was recognized as: Teacher of the Year in the Franklin Pierce School District (2003); Washington State Music Teacher of the Year; and. most recently, the Curtis band was named an “All American High School Band” by the Conn–Selmar Musical Instrument Company. He has been a member of the Society for 20 years and as a director with the Tacoma, WA Totemaires, Puyallup WA Puyallup Valley Harmonizers and the Bellevue, WA Northwest Sound Men’s Chorus. During that time he has also been an avid quartetter, coach and clinician. As a quartetter he has sung in many quartets; most notably Vocal Magic (2005 District Quartet Champion) and currently sings Lead in Madison Park quartet. He is an active member of the Quartet Champions of Evergreen District (QCED) and serves as a trustee for that organization. He is extremely proud that he directed the Northwest Sound Men’s Chorus on the international stage in Portland, last summer. With all that musical talent you may have thought he cut his musical teeth on barbershop harmony. Not so. Twenty years ago he was introduced to barbershop harmony purely by accident. He received an invitation from the Tacoma, WA Totemaires to attend a rehearsal (You see, invitation recruitment letters do work!) and the rest is history, so they say. He was asked to sing in a new quartet Ted Chamberlain was forming and has sung in a variety of quartets before finally winning a district quartet championship in 2005.
2011 Ken GallowayTualatin Valley
2010 Doug BroersmaBellingham
2009 Bob RobsonCalgary Foothills
2008 Carl Van HoffTri Cities
2007 Steve MorinSalem
2006 Adrian LeontovichBellevue
2005 Frank JohnsonBozeman
2004 Jaime PetersonBellevue
2003 John BoydAnacortes
2002 Dick TownsendSpokane
2001 Gerry BordenGreater Vancouver
2000 Kendall WilliamsBellevue
1999 Bob SwansonFrank Thorne
1998 Rich HastyFWD Santa Fe Springs
1997 Bobby HuberBellevue
1996 Ken JonesFrank Thorne
1995 Mel KnightSalem
1994 Don CraigMedicine Hat
1993 Paul Derr
1992 Ken PaskFrank Thorne
1991 Chester ColpittsGreater Vancouver
1990 Steve MondauTacoma
1989 Alan GowansMedicine Hat
1988 Mike LanctotBellevue
1987 Carl B. NelsonSeattle
1986 Paul TomicichBellevue
1985 None Awarded
1984 John MarchiFrank Thorne
1983 Bob CoxSalem
1982 Tim KnightEugene
1981 Bun StromGreat Falls
1980 Stephen KyesPortland Metro
1979 Charles MetzgerGreater Vancouver
1978 Chuck OlsonTualatin Valley
1977 Earl MillerLebanon
1976 Lee WynneSpokane
1975 Wayne Schroeder
1974 None Awarded
1973 Larry Hull
1972 Harry Neuwirth
1971 Bob MorganGreat Falls
1970 Richard Williams
1969 Jim BlokzylFederal Way
1968 Everett Ball
1967 Jim BlokzylSeattle
1966 Bill McMenamin
1965 Keith Axline
1964 J.H. "Bud Leabo

Copyright the EVG District of The Barbershop Harmony Society 2014-2020   Send all inquiries to the Webmaster